Vinyl lacquer plant burnt crisis!!

I'm not one to yell that the sky is falling....but this is it for the "vinyl boom". At least for a year or so - until some other facility takes over production.

Why there was only 1 plant in the world making 90% of the lacquers is what is really strange...couldn't someone see that a fire like this would wipe out the whole industry?

DMM is the only other option - so more from the GZ family, as most other mastering houses aren't set up with DMM lathes.

Right, yeah I'm no expert (obviously!) but it seems like this is quite a major set back, hmmmmm , I think I'll continue on my s/h purchasing , I'm mostly appalled how much they charge for new albums these days, and it looks like quality will cost a shit load more in 6 months or so going forward .
Nitrocellulose is extremely volatile which could be a reason they were the only plant making them. Could be hard to get a new facility up and running with the cash needed and regulations to deal with.

I wonder how this will affect Tone Poet et al that do mastering from the Original Tapes, I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have done the lacquers for the whole year of releases yet (could be wrong ) but will be interesting to see what happens with them .

I'm no expert, either. Here's a link that explains the whole vinyl record process.
If my understanding is correct, the plant that burned down supplied the blank lacquer and the cutting tools? Then those would have been sent off to engineers and lacquer cutting studios?

yep. From what I've read they supplied up to 90% of the world-wide lacquers.

The other company isn't near as big, and only shipped within Japan.

I don't think the casual vinyl fans have grasped what this means.

I wonder how this will affect Tone Poet et al that do mastering from the Original Tapes, I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have done the lacquers for the whole year of releases yet (could be wrong ) but will be interesting to see what happens with them .