Compilations

BjorgenFjorgen

I searched and didn't really find a thread on this topic. Some of us were talking in another thread about compilations, covers, etc., and I've been listening to them a lot in the last few years. There have been a few compilations that were life-changing and I still listen to as much as any other favourite album. These are some of my top compilations off the top of my head:

I'm Not There soundtrack.

I was probably in my late teens or very early 20s when I first got this, but I have no memory of it. I'd heard a few Dylan records and really liked them but they were only up till BoB at that point. I was a broke student and buying all my music on CDs at the time. Maybe my brother in law showed it to me. A few of the covers on here of songs I didn't recognize became favourites, like "Señor (Tales of Yankee Power)", "Goin' to Acapulco", "Man in the Long Black Coat", etc. So even knowing later Bob now, I still like Willie Nelson singing Señor, Jim James singing Acapulco. One of my absolute favourite movies too. I'd love to know how they chose which songs to include in a project like this. Do you avoid "Most of the Time" because the Masked and Anonymous one just couldn't be topped? One of the all-time best Dylan songs and I'd never heard it till I finally got to Oh Mercy a couple years ago, just because it wasn't on I'm Not There.

Day of the Dead
Downloaded this the summer it came out, shortly after I'd started streaming music, for a 6-hour Greyhound trip I was taking one Friday. Had never really been curious about the Dead even though I liked jammier rock in general. Now they're one of my favourite bands, mainly because I fell in love with so many of these songs through their covers. And then so many of the singers of those covers afterward, too. Still listen to it all the time.

Numero Group's Planisphere