Record Doctor V issues

Angsty

I've been using a Record Doctor V RCM for about 3 years with few issues; it does a better job cleaning than most other manual methods like the Spin Clean. However, something is rattling in the Record Doctor now. I remember from a while ago that there is a vertical PVC fluid collector pipe in it and I think that may be loose.

I could not find a previously viewed set of teardown photos for it and there are no visible screws to allow for easy disassembly. Has anyone opened their Record Doctor to make a fix, and if so, how did that work out?

Just after posting, I remembered where I saw the tear-down photos. It was in an Amazon review. Does not look promising, but at least found out how to remove the bottom cover through the screws in the feet.

It looks like it will be a few hours-long project to really work on this; this will have to wait for a later date but a loose PVC tube is a reason to not use the machine until that is fixed. :(

Amazon product ASIN B00BEIC3DO
The Record Doctor was a gift but if I had spend my own cash, I'd probably spring for the Pro-Ject VC-E instead. Currently, the Record Doctor is what it is. Now that I have a HumminGuru, I have reason to question if I need a vacuum RCM at all only to use on thrift-store finds.

I have a RDV that had rattling after 5 years of use. I popped it right open (extremely easy), turned out it was piece of that deluxe automotive putty they used to construct this. Yes it’s pretty much a piece of crap but that Amazon reviewer’s unit must have been overused because mine did not look anywhere near that bad.

I’m honestly skeptical that vac RCMs are really that different in result so I have personally hesitated on getting a new one.

How do you like the HG vs the RDV?

Just after posting, I remembered where I saw the tear-down photos. It was in an Amazon review. Does not look promising, but at least found out how to remove the bottom cover through the screws in the feet.