Real talk: Collecting Records

scotthilk

Hey all,

I have been collecting records for roughly 5 years. It has been an amazing, and expensive journey. I have a few questions for fellow collectors that I'd like to get answered, if you have the time.

1) How do you decide what records you will buy? Do you buy anything you like? Or, are there other specific criteria? In the age of Apple Music and Spotify, nearly all music sits at our cellular fingertips. So, how do you decide what you will actually purchase, house, and own?

2) How much time do you spend streaming music (Pandora, Spotify, iTunes, JQBX, whatever) vs. spinning records?

3) Aside for financial reasons, when do you decide to sell a record (if at all)?

4) Thoughts on colored vinyl? Prefer black? Depends? Depends on what?!

5) Any other information on your specific collecting ideas, rituals, nuances, or anything. I am genuinely interested in the processes at play here.

TGIF!

1) I wish I could pretend I had a hard and fast code, but looking at my collection it seems to mostly come down to the following, individually or in combination: I bought it at a show because I liked/wanted to support the artist; I love the album and it was important to me at some point; I like the album but think it would be fun to listen to on a big stereo; VMP sent it to me; I was experimenting; it was a classic I always meant to listen to but never did; PIF; Polyvinyl was selling mystery bundles.

2) More time streaming. I generally spin as an evening activity.

3) If I don't like it as much as I expected; if I do like it but think someone else might enjoy it more; if I'm trying to clear space for shinies.

4) I find black vinyl tends to sound better, but colored vinyl is awfully pretty. As long as it's quiet, I really don't care.

5) No special ideas when it comes to collecting or listening. I like drinking whiskey?

Hey all,