Noob's first vinyl hardware - at the moment HomePod user

Charity

Good day and hello here

Right now I'm listening with Apple Music (subscription), iPhone and HomePod.

I want to get into the world of vinyl, but I'm not sure if I'm audiophile (even notice the difference in quality).

I was therefore looking for a rack, turntable and speakers for beginners. Did some research, but am a complete beginner and glad forn advice.

I am a big Rammstein fan.

I have a small living room and can not listen too loud, because of neighbors (poor isolation).

I don't want to spend too much money as I'm not sure if this will become a new hobby of mine or gather dust in the basement.

These are the products I would like to buy, am very open to feedback/suggestions.

The speakers don't have a power supply, not sure if that will work.

Have I forgotten any accessories etc? Is there anything else I need?

Shopping list (all new, nothing existing yet)

- Living room furniture -> TV furniture -> NorStone Esse HiFi

- Denon DP-300F (upper class, fully automatic)

- Teufel Ultima 20 (passive loudspeaker)

Kind regards and have a nice day

Hey!

Welcome!

First thing. Passive speaker require amplification. So you will need, with them, to factor an amplifier into the equation. The other alternative would be powered speakers. Generally an amplifier and passive speaker will sound better but powered speakers may potentially better suit your circumstances.

Second, if you wanted to also play your Apple Music through the new system an airport express, discontinued but readily available on eBay second hand, will allow for this!

Good luck, happy hunting!

Last edited:
Welcome to the board!

I don't have experience with the Denon, but by all accounts it's an excellent beginner table.