Weight vs Clamp

batkins

I have a Pro-Ject Debut turntable with the standard metal platter. I've been considering a weight or a clamp. Ideally, this would help correct some (minimal?) warps and maybe help counter some environmental vibrations due to having a crawl space. From my limited knowledge and internet searches, I've been thinking clamp. I was looking at the Record Doctor Record Clamp. Anyone have any info, good or bad, on this product? Or any info in general on using a clamp vs a weight with a Pro-Ject debut table?

I personally prefer a clamp as opposed to a weight as it doesn't add any more significant mass to the platter or stress on the motor but that's just me. I've been using this guy for a few years and it's a champ of a clamp. It performs some minor miracles on warps.

Last edited:
I have a Pro-Ject Debut turntable with the standard metal platter. I've been considering a weight or a clamp. Ideally, this would help correct some (minimal?) warps and maybe help counter some environmental vibrations due to having a crawl space. From my limited knowledge and internet searches, I've been thinking clamp. I was looking at the Record Doctor Record Clamp. Anyone have any info, good or bad, on this product? Or any info in general on using a clamp vs a weight with a Pro-Ject debut table?

I run pro-ject’s own clamp (imaginatively called Clamp-It) on a debut carbon. Nice looking and does the job well.

If a manufacturer makes a clamp for table as @Joe Mac ’s post suggests, use it. Otherwise michell is the way to go as @Yer Ol' Uncle D suggests.

Re: weight check your manufacturer’s recommendation in regards to them for the reason’s stayed above.

A clamp is better for repairing warps.

I do use both but for the coupling/vibration reduction, I don’t notice a discernible difference in the two. I bought a weight because my table (a u-turn) is not clamp ideal (in fact my manufacturer recommends you not use them) as it has a composite spindle.