The DIY/Projects Thread

BoilerRhapsody

I pretty much only post about music here, so none of you would know I was an electronics technician. While I've never been much of an audiophile hobbyist I did get through a pretty substantial project, as apprentices a colleague and I made a pretty serious amplifier:

Overview.jpg

Its a bit of a beast: 200+ hours of work, it weighs about 65 Kilograms (~145 pounds), and while we've never fully stretched its legs we were shooting for 1000W audio output (I think we got close).

Front Panel.jpg

The chassis is from some old piece of test equipment, I machined this front panel myself (including milling the fan vent) which is solid Aluminium, with Aluminium knobs and nice industrial looking exposed fasteners. The knobs control main volume, sub channel crossover frequency, cooling fan speed, and something else (sub channel volume maybe?)

Transformers.jpg

These ridiculously over the top transformers provide the vast majority of the weight, and all that power.

PCBs.jpg

The actual amplification bits are Silicon Chip kits, so we never got way deep into the grittiness of designing amplification circuits and PCBs. The potential 1000W output is split across 2 channels, which are split between D-Class sub amps and AB Class for the rest of the frequencies. So in the photo, you can see each channel is on one side, with 12V power supply boards upside down on top, then the ABs below, then the Ds at the bottom. Those two pale boards in the middle handle speaker protection, and the crossover to make sure the low frequencies go into the sub amps and the rest into the normal amps. Those are sitting on a large central heatsink tube with a fan at each end, which is where all the heat from the amps goes and is blasted out the front through that grille I spent way too much time machining. That thing at the bottom of the photo is a scroll fan that was sitting around and looks cool, so we put it in there for some 'ambient' airflow.

Power Supply.jpg