Sargasso Seas and Caribbean Vibes (Reggae & Dub Music)

I don't think I've seen a Reggae thread around here or the other place so I thought the literally dozens of us that enjoy these musical forms could congregate here.

I'm far from an expert and mostly just know the more well known roots and dub artists of the 60's, 70's, and 80's, but I have great love for anything with soul and a message.

I lived in Puerto Rico briefly and am always down to talk about the Caribbean

I'm not the biggest fan of reggae in general although I do love some of it's funkier moments. Stuff like what Madlib showcased on the blunted in the bombshelter type stuff really does it for me.

I also happen to live in a city where a good portion of Studio One musicians immigrated to and who started recording locally when they got here. Jackie Mittoo, Wayne McGhie and many more cut some really great funk/soul/r&b records and reggae influenced by those genres as well. LITA did a great compilation covering some of the best (and ridiculously rare) sides recorded here on their Jamaica To Toronto compilation.

On a similar note.. if anyone here does collect rare reggae, I have a minty copy of that Jackie Mittoo All-Stars 7" that I'm looking to get rid of as well as a bunch of other reggae 12's and a few LPs but nothing very rare besides the Mittoo.

I'm not the biggest fan of reggae in general although I do love some of it's funkier moments. Stuff like what Madlib showcased on the blunted in the bombshelter type stuff really does it for me.

I also happen to live in a city where a good portion of Studio One musicians immigrated to and who started recording locally when they got here. Jackie Mittoo, Wayne McGhie and many more cut some really great funk/soul/r&b records and reggae influenced by those genres as well. LITA did a great compilation covering some of the best (and ridiculously rare) sides recorded here on their Jamaica To Toronto compilation.